WhatsApp is adding its most anticipated feature which has the ability to delete and revoke messages after you’ve sent them. Through ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature, users can revoke their messages in case they sent those to a wrong person or a group.
There are some limitations with this feature such as the time limit. Users can only delete messages for up to seven minutes after sending. The deleted message will show you a message reading “This message was deleted.” After that they will disappear from the conversation with individuals or group chats. WhatsApp said on Friday, “Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.”
This feature will support messages in text, pictures, quoted messages, videos, status replies, and GIFs. Besides, you can delete messages for yourself by deleting your copy of messages you’ve sent or received from your phone. WhatsApp said, “This has no effect on your recipients’ chats. Your recipients will still see the messages in their chat screen.”
You can select a message and tap the trash icon, that will show you the two option, ‘delete for Everyone,’ or ‘Delete for Me.’
Another limitation is that this new feature will only work if both sender and receiver have the latest WhatsApp version installed.
The final issue regarding this feature is that the company is launching it slowly to WhatsApp users this week, so it might not be available for everyone just yet. It will take few days to get to you.